• Student Services staff coordinate and deliver prevention and intervention services, which contribute to the holistic development of children, support families, and improvement of our schools. Student Services staff strive to maximize coordinated efforts that will reduce barriers to learning and enable students to achieve in a safe and effective environment. 

    Student Code of Conduct

    The Student Code of Conduct defines the conduct code for student behavior, provides school administrators with guidelines for intervention strategies and administering consequences for infractions, and is intended to be a guide for parents and students.

    Download the 2023-24 Student Code of Conduct

    Bullying Hotline

    Roanoke City Public Schools takes bullying seriously, and we want to make sure every child feels safe at school. For that reason, we have launched a Bullying Hotline. The hotline is open to anyone who experiences or observes bullying that is school related. Bullying is defined as any aggressive and unwanted behavior that is intended to harm, intimidate, or humiliate the victim; involves a real or perceived power imbalance between the aggressor or aggressors and victim; and is repeated over time or caused severe emotional trauma. Call (540) 853-1700 to report bullying. You can remain anonymous.

    School Resource Officers

    RCPS partners with the Roanoke City Sheriff's Office and Roanoke Police Department to station School Resources Officers (SROs) in all schools. The Roanoke Sheriff's Office provides elementary SROs, and the Roanoke Police Department provides SROs at the middle and high school level. To learn more, download the current Memorandum of Understanding between RCPS and law enforcement agencies.

    McKinney-Vento Program

    The federal McKinney-Vento Act guarantees school enrollment for students who lack fixed, permanent housing. RCPS offers support to students and families who are experiencing housing instability. For more information, visit the McKinney-Vento webpage or contact Coordinator Malora Horn at (540) 400-9787 or mhorn@rcps.info.

    Division Safety Advisory Committee

    The mission of the Division Safety Advisory Committee is to assist Student Services in its efforts to ensure safe learning environments for each school community. Committee members include school personnel, members from law enforcement, emergency services, community service boards, and judicial representatives. Members serve one-year terms and meet at least four times per year. All meetings are held at the Central Administration Building on Douglass Avenue.

    2023-24 Committee Members

    • Tracey Anderson
    • Lieutenant Susanna Camp
    • Dr. Josh Dowdy
    • Anthony Drakeford
    • Curtis Dudley
    • Carley Emerson, Parent
    • Sergeant Michael Hewitt
    • Josh Johnson
    • Sergeant Daniel Meyer
    • Sergeant Tim Young
    • Lieutenant Andrew Palmer
    • Dr. Hayley Poland
    • Natasha Saunders, School Board Representative
    • Trevor Shannon
    • Morgan Strother
    • Wesley Williams