Teacher of the Year 2019
Posted on 04/30/2019
Ray Cotter holding his trophy and a bouquet of flowers.During a special ceremony at the Jefferson Center, Ray Cotter was named Roanoke's Teacher of the Year.  Mr. Cotter is a ROTEC teacher who teaches Engineering at William Fleming High School.  Congratulations.  He will now compete as Regional Teacher of the Year.

Mr. Cotter received $1,000 from Hughes Associates Architects & Engineering as well as a bouquet of flowers from George's Flowers.  Mathis Seal of James Madison Middle was the runner-up.  He received $750 from ESS.  Mr. Richter of William Fleming High School was the third finalist and received $500 from Hughes Associates.

Ray Cotter posing with Mr. Lear of ROTECMr. Cotter speaking from the podium

Before the announcement, the nominees were pampered at Zee's Salon with free haircuts, makeup, and massages.  They were transported by limo to the Mill Mountain Star and then to the Jefferson Center.

Amber Allen at Zee's SalonTeacher of the year nominee getting hair stylingMs. Thorpe entering the limoMr. Bonilla inside the limo

Here is the full list of nominees:

Laura ChidesterLaura Chidester of Lucy Addison Middle

Angelo Bonilla
Angela Bonilla of James Breckinridge Middle

Kathleen Hendrickson
Kathleen Hedrickson of Crystal Spring Elementary

Marcia Jones
Marcia Jones of Fallon Park Elementary

Cris Newsome
Cris Newsome of Fishburn Park Elementary

Christine Howell
Christine Howell of John P. Fishwick Middle

Amy Brown
Amy Brown of Forest Park Academy

Breann Jones
Breann Jones of Garden City Elementary

Matthew Browning
Matthew Browning of the Governor's School

Sharon Elmore
Sharon Ellmore of Grandin Court Elementary

Sarah Dogan
Sarah Dogan of Highland Park Elementary

Jennifer Guffey
Jennifer Guffey of Hurt Park Elementary

Robin Thorpe
Robin Thorpe of Lincoln Terrace Elementary

Kelly Suprenant
Kelly Surprenant of Monterey Elementary

Donna hall
Donna Hall of Morningside Elementary

David Higgs
David Higgs of Patrick Henry High School

Kristen Pennock
Kristen Pennock of Preston Park Elementary

Tiffany LeNeave with Principal Belton
Tiffany LeNeave of Roanoke Academy

Dena Holland
Dena Holland of Round Hill Elementary

Amber Allen
Amber Allen of Virginia Heights Elementary

Nancy Meacham
Nancy Meacham of Wasena Elementary

Jennifer Eisner
Jenifer Eisner of Westside Elementary

Cindy Deck
Cindy Deck of Woodrow Wilson Middle

Scott Stanley of Fairview Elementary

Matthew Bolen of Noel Taylor Learning Academy

40 Douglass Avenue NW, Roanoke, VA24012 Phone 540-853-2502