Teacher of the Year 2017
Posted on 04/24/2017
Fletcher Nichols holding a plaque and a bouquet of flowersCongratulations to Fletcher Nichols of Patrick Henry High School.  He was selected as Roanoke's Teacher of the Year.  Mr. Nichols and teachers from each school were honored at a banquet at the Jefferson Center.

Mr. Nichols has taught Art and African American Studies at Patrick Henry High School for 30 years.  He received $1,000 from Hughes Associates Architects and Engineers.  This is the third year-in-a-row Roanoke's Teacher of the Year has come from Patrick Henry High School.

Melissa Harnist of the Roanoke Valley Governor's School was a runner-up.  She received $500 from Hughes Associates.  The other runner-up was Erika Hackworth of Woodrow Wilson Middle.  She received $500 from Source 4 Teachers.

Before the banquet, teachers were pampered at Zee's Salon in Roanoke.  They were treated to free haircuts, makeup, and hand massages.  Thanks to the staff at Zee's for always making our Teacher of the Year candidates feel so special.

Mr. Nichols standing with his wifeMr.  Nichols holding a ceremonial $1,000 checkRunner up Melissa Harnist of the Governor's School holding her trophyRunner up Erika Hackworth of Woodrow Wilson holding her trophyTeacher of the Year candidate getting her makeup done at Zee's SalonMadison Middle teacher getting her hair done at Zee's SalonVirginia Heights teacher sitting in the massage chairNoel Taylor Teacher getting his hair done at Zee's Salon

Here is a list of the other nominees:

Crystal Spring Elementary:  Miranda Murtaugh

Fairview Elementary: Ashley Duffey

Fallon Park Elementary: Stacie Orris

Fishburn Park Elementary: Kingna Veinote

Forest Park Academy:  Kevin Joyce

Garden City Elementary: Siera Price

Grandin Court Elementary: Karen Bethel

Highland Park Elementary: Crystal Pruett

Hurt Park Elementary: Stephanie Ingram

James Breckinridge Middle:  Leslie Barrett

James Madison Middle:  Kaitlyn Pinkard

Lincoln Terrace Elementary:  Karen Reeves

Lucy Addison Middle:  Brian Kreppeneck

Monterey Elementary:  Kimberly Fickey

Morningside Elementary:  Natasha Rogers

Noel C. Taylor:  Devan  Nicely

Preston Park Elementary:  Sandra Rock

Roanoke Academy:  Janelle Ferguson

ROTEC:  Megan Faulring

Round Hill Elementary:  Beth Blair

Stonewall Jackson Middle:  Consuela Stokley

Virginia Heights Elementary:  Susan Ayers

Wasena Elementary:  Jamie Peters

Westside Elementary:  Kendra Fagg

William Fleming High School:  Melissa Poff
40 Douglass Avenue NW, Roanoke, VA 24012 Phone 540-853-2502